Over 1 year later – Social Media Autobiography (part 9)

You’ve come a long way baby…

Wow.  It’s been over a year.  Last October, I did a started a social media autobiography.  I was supposed to speak on a social media panel this week, but I’m on vacation, so as a make-up, I told my good friend at the OCCD, I would do some updated posts on my experience with social media.  The next several posts will fulfill that promise.  To see how I started and how the first few months went of using social media and economic development, check out the list of prior posts here:

So, in the next 8 posts, we will update the journey.  Here’s what I’ve learned over the past 15 months, summarized in five principles:

  1. Don’t be afraid to experiment – not every social media outlet will work out for you, but the best way to learn is to do it.  Unless you’re going to hire out your social media function (which means you have deep pockets), read what you can on social media, but jump into the stream and see what works.  You can tweak as you go.  The planning side of me hates this approach, but I believe you can only really learn the tool by doing.
  2. Social media has an important role for economic and community development – I did a presentation in which I talked about how it is critical for what we do.  To some extent, I do believe that.  Sooner or later, you will have to embrace it at some level.  Might as well get on the bandwagon.
  3. Get help – long-term sustainability, I believe, for a community or organization involved in community/economic development, relies on multiple people.  Don’t be afraid to use interns and/or other colleagues.
  4. It forces you to produce content – the one thing that I know about community and economic development is the absolutely overwhelming amount of content that is out there on our product.  I love the blog because it makes me work on continuing to put into written-down form information about my product – all the businesses, economy, projects, quality of life, etc.  Almost 250 posts later, and there’s still more to do.  Without the blog, I would be a year later and not have all of that information in one place.
  5. Search engine ranks are very high – I don’t know that I will ever get rid of the blog, once I put all of the information (or a select subset of the information) onto the website.  This is because all the social media and online media sites rank so highly in google.  This is an amazing fact, and tags are amazing things.

Here are some summary statistics thus far:

Leave a Reply

