ROI with Twitter – Social Media Autobiography (Part 6)

Twitter header

ROI with Twitter

Since starting on May 20, 2009, I have sent out over 1700 tweets (text messages) and have over 2200 followers (people receiving my messages).  According to Twitter grader, I’m the top Twitterer in Springfield, OH.  But, as much as I like numbers (and my friend Billy Fischer will tell you it’s not about the numbers but quality of relationships), the better question is – has Twitter been successful for me and my business/mission?  Well, it’s certainly hard to judge for the first four months, but I get several different kinds of positive feedback. 

1. Interaction

First, people I did not know before are interacting with me because they find me on Twitter.  It provides another avenue of approach and accessibility. I’ve had several business lunches with people who first talked to me on Twitter.  I’ve met – in real life – people in the IT, insurance, and manufacturing industries as well as community activists who first approached me via Twitter.  It’s been a great way to make new relationships.

2. Feedback

Second, I get feedback from people that they’ve heard from other people who don’t know me that the content I put out is really valuable and a great way to know what’s going on.  I get feedback from social media people and business people locally, in Columbus and in different parts of the State.  A good example of real results is the Controller for a local manufacturer who had a grandfather who worked the rail lines.  He saw a couple of tweets that I did on rail updates with video of Jim Bodenmiller and a visiting developer talking about the benefits of the Northeaster rail line.  He contacted me, said he stays in contact with me via Twitter and the blog and through that conversation I was able to find out what the expansion plans of that company are.  Great stuff.  It increases the reputation of the community and awareness of things going on. 

3. Awareness 

This awareness is a third positive ROI.  I tweeted once about the Springfield Symphony Orchestra and someone responded that they didn’t know there was one.  They were able to get informed and responded with a “wow, ok, looks good.”  Next, we can promote Chamber businesses as well as community and regional assets.  Overall, it’s enhancing our branding (particularly the SpringfieldEdge economic development brand) and disseminating positive information about Springfield.

So, what’s your ROI?

How do you measure your return on investment with Twitter (time being the biggest investment)?  Would love to hear your thoughts.

Past posts in this series

This is the sixth part in a series on my history and use of social media.  Others include:

Leave a Reply

